Rev. Chris Snow

North Hill Christian Church

July 4, 2021

Psalm 150

For a little over the past 20 years I have slowly accumulated a number of instruments. They are mostly all of there percussion variety and can trace their origins from around the world. They each have their own origin stories, their own tones, and intended styles. They each have something different to offer to a musician, and each have their own limitations. Yet I value each one of them for what they offer. And that offering, for me, is very much impacted by today’s Psalm. 

All of the instruments I have accumulated have been gathered in part to allow me to praise God more fully. You see, growing up I have always been self conscious about my own speech and voice, but I was able to find my own way of praising God during my youth through the playing of instruments in times of worship. An offering of a part of myself in praise to God. 

The first time that I can remember this text is when a friend of mine, in describing my actions during a backpacking trip, named this Psalm. As we sang around a camp fire I had picked up a couple sticks and started to play them on a log, adding myself into this time of praise. Adding what I could to honoring God in that moment. Offering of myself, what I could, to uplift the whole in those moments. 

Offering what I had to add to the declaration of who we know God to be in our lives. Of who we know Christ to be in our lives. To declare thanksgiving and praise to the one who has shown an abounding love and grace, while also continuously leading us down the path to the Kingdom of God. Offering what I could, even when I was emotionally exhausted and needed to be reminded that God was indeed present with me in this journey. Sustaining me as I journeyed on. 

As I consider each of my instruments, and how they each have something different to offer, I am mindful of a lecture provided by Rev. Otis Moss III as a part of the festival of Homiletics where he said something to the effect of, “Jazz is made up of instruments that aren’t supposed to play together and each has their own opportunity to play a solo.” Each instrument has the opportunity to shine. 

Communities of faith are made up of groups of people that may not otherwise fit together. Churches are a place where different age and socio economic groupings are brought together, not around the qualities we hold as individuals that unite us but rather by the one who has gathered us all here.

In jazz you have the trumpet, trombone, sax, upright base, drum set as the standard. These instruments aren’t always what you think of when it comes to a traditional grouping. The qualities of each instrument are not necessarily supposed to work well together, and yet it does. Creating an almost unpredictable music style. 

Turning to the Psalm, vs 3-5 names the broad breadth of the known orchestra. “Praise him with trumpet sound; praise him with lute and harp! Praise him with tambourine and dance; praise him with strings and pipe! Praise him with clanging cymbals; praise him with loud clashing cymbals!” 

Each instrument section and instrument is lifted up as having worth in praising God. Even more than that even to praise God in dance is lifted up as worthy. But moving even further on, the last verse names that the limits of praising God should not be just for humans but rather for all of creation that breathes. All creation that draws on the breath of life from the beginning of creation is to praise God. 

But I am mindful that if our sole focus of praising God is on how we lift praises to God in song then we are missing out on how we are called to give our praise to God in all other aspects of our lives. 

A text that comes to mind is Micah 6:6-8, “‘With what shall I come before the Lord, and bow myself before God on high? Shall I come before him with burnt offerings, with calves a year old? Will the Lord be pleased with thousands of rams, with ten thousands of rivers of oil? Shall I give my firstborn for my transgression, the fruit of my body of the sin of my soul?’ He has told you, O mortal what is good; and what does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?”

What we offer in times of worship and praise is nice, but what is declared as good is how we live out those acts of praise. How we declare God’s goodness to the world. By doing justice, by loving kindness, and walking humbly with our God. 

By offering what we have in this journey, down the path that God is guiding us. By offering ourselves to uplifting one another and the ministries that God calls us into. For each one of us this may look different. Much like each one of my instruments has a different story and something different to offer. 

My oldest drum is my djembe. It’s style traces back to West Africa and it’s name originates from a phrase that translates as, everyone gather together in peace. Due to my drum’s size it is meant to lay a foundation of rhythm for music. It isn’t meant to be played at high speeds as the deep tones get muddled together, but in simple rhythms sets the pace that can be felt by those around. I have often used it in places of calling people into worship, especially at camps.

Some of us are meant to be that steady beat, helping guide others. Helping to set a pace and stability that others can lean on for help and a cue moving forward. We help put things into place so that as we work together, adding input from each section we find a well rounded declaration of who we know who God is. Providing those guiding principles for the whole of the ministries of this congregation. Some of us find our selves in places where we can call others to come and know God more fully. 

Another set of drums come as a pair. They are the congas and originate from Cuba. Early on they were played individually, with each person playing one at a time but over the years it is commonplace for a single person to play 2 or three at a time. Each one of these has their own tone, but as they are played together find that they offer more together than separate. It is interesting to note that some of the defining names name the highest voiced drum as the lead and then we have the middle, and lowest from there. They have to work together in partnership, and as they are played their voices add something unique to the music around them. 

Some of us are comfortable being the focus of temporary attention. Adding our voice to a need or cause in our community. Speaking up when something needs to be done. Leading individual ministry projects or programs. But all that we do is done so that together our voices are lifted up in doing something wonderful. 

The last of my primary drums is the cajon which originates from Peru and its name means box, crate, or drawer pointing back to its early origins where slave musicians in the Spanish colonial Americas would use what they had to make music. 

Some of us find ways to be scrappy and use what we have to be creative and innovate new possibilities. Finding ways to declare God’s truth even when there are obstacles in our way. Looking around and seeing where there are gaps and possibilities for ministry and making them happen. 

I could keep going on with each of my instruments but the point I am trying to make is that as we are called to praise God with all that we have, and just like an orchestra, band, jazz group, or choir each person, has something to offer. Each person has their own story, strengths and weaknesses, but as we gather together we can lift our praises through song and through out our entire lives. Working together by offering our gifts and talents to uplift the ministries that God has called us into. This is a place that God has called us each into. To each play our own part that culminates in songs of praise, in doing justice, loving kindness, and together walking humbly with our God.